Start Me Up

Hi Pat,

I have a couple of notes started, sitting in cyberspace. But it’s New Year’s Eve and since I haven’t written here much lately, I wanted to mark the end of 2010 here, and get ready for 2011.

So here’s my baby, sitting in the parking lot outside my office:

downsized_1231001656.jpg
No more chrome centers. A bit of a fiercer look, I think. I like! I ran a few errands tonight and took her out for a spin. I hopped in at Lowe’s, stowed my bags, and buckled up. There was a random guy walking through the parking lot a couple of aisles over – no cars between us. I turned the key and started her up. The guy’s head whipped around and he turned to face me and stopped dead in his tracks. Hee! FIERCE. He smiled and waved and I waved back and took off.

There’s a thunderstorm going on here tonight. We’re expecting heavy rains for the next couple of days. My husband is now a cab driver, and we’re hoping the weather won’t be too big a damper on the revelers. I’ll be stoking the homefires, keeping some coffee going for him, making some cinnamon rolls later. I’ve got a big pot of beef vegetable soup I made a couple of days ago, and some cornbread. It’s nice to have a little time to crank out some real cooking, especially at the holidays.

downsized_1230001629.jpgMy sweet, fierce little car now has a place out of the weather! Someday I’ll have a garage, but for now, the new carport will have to do. It’s the same old deck, extended a few feet, with roofing on the underside to protect the cars. And a cover over the steps keeps us dry from door to door. Small changes, big improvement.

Alright. So next up, Daytona! I need to study up and see who’s driving what for whom. Over my short time in motorsport, I’ve seen many of the friends I’ve made in the clubs accomplish great things, making all kinds of splashes in various forms of pro racing. I’ll have a few friends driving Daytona, and it’ll be such a thrill to see them out there doing their thing! And you! My favorite driver! I’m looking forward to seeing you, too. Hey, I’m looking for you to take Daytona OVERALL, Mr. Patrick Long! GO GET IT!

On that note, I wish you a super fantastic 2011!

Drive purty!
VroomGrrl

Leave a comment