2009 Was a Very Good Year

Hi Pat,

Since you are the namesake of this blog, you probably think I am going to do a rundown of your year and all your awesome accomplishments. You would be wrong! We have several different online sources for very complete information about your awesome year. But where can you read about MY year? Right here, of course! Ha! 🙂

Actually I was prompted to do a rundown of the year when I realized that I had made it out in the car much more often than I’d planned to, and it still wasn’t enough! But it was a lot, I think, considering.

March 7-8 PCA DE at Barber
March 29 ALSCCA AX Points #2
May 30-31 NASA-SE Barber Summer Classic (DE)
June 7 ALSCCA AX Points #5
June 20-21 PCA DE at Barber
September 20 ALSCCA AX Points #8
October 10 PCA DE at TGPR
October 25 ALSCCA AX Points #9
November 15n ALSCCA AX Points #10
November 28 TGPR Open Track Day (DE)

We moved once around May 21 and again around June 19. I remember how crazy it was trying to get ready for the June 20-21 DE with my stuff all in the chaos of the move, and how desperate I was to get away from the day-to-day pressures and get out onto the track! My frame of mind was not the best, but it was sweet, sweet respite and very energizing for the work ahead. It was the same for the AX events I attended while we were between houses, in temporary quarters, and I had to prep my car in the apartment parking lot. Fun times! It was great to have my car stuff to get away to, though. And the AX track was just 5 minutes from our temporary apartment – I couldn’t stand knowing that was going on so close and I was just sitting on my dead ass in the apartment? I don’t think so!

I’m waiting for the AX schedule to come together before I take a look at the year ahead for me. Since taking a staff position with my local PCA, I will have lots more PCA admin stuff going on, lots of planning meetings. They seem to choose destinations which are fun to drive to but not too far away, which is great. I’ll be expected at all our club DEs – no problem there! But the calendar is filling up. I think my work with NASA-SE will suffer most. I have a pile of credits at this point, and they are not having any events closer than Road Atlanta. Anyway bla bla bla we’ll see how it all shakes out. I can’t stand the idea of missing my NASA-SE buddies all year!

I’ll continue to keep an eye out for your news. I’ve got friends going down for Daytona and I am dying to do that myself, but I have a huge thing at work starting that week and there’s just no way in hell – unless the big thing gets resolved first. Fingers crossed!

My big winter project will be to go over my brake system and freshen that all up, and also to scrape all the old novice and tech stickers off the glass so I can start anew in February. And it’s too damned cold to even think about getting out there and doing any of that. Stay tuned…..

So look, Pat, happy happy new year!!! I can’t wait to see how the rest of your calendar will fill in – 24 Heures du Mans, TRG joint efforts, and what about your NASCAR Camping World Series work? MotoGP? As I said, I’ll keep an eye out and just try to keep up with you. Wishing you all the best for a fantastic 2010!

VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

