Who’s On First for 2010?

Hi Pat,

News from your personal corner of the world has been quiet these days. That’s OK – you deserve a break after the year you’ve had! Actually I have a feeling you’re not exactly on “break” either, to tell the truth. I suspect you may still be over in Stuttgart for the Night of Champions which will close the big week of festivities at the new Porsche Museum this week. Busy busy boy!

Even so, the first news from Porsche AG is out!

STUTTGART, Germany – December 11 — Porsche will remain loyal to its successful customer teams and drivers in major international GT series around the world for 2010, including those in the North America.

In the American Le Mans Series, factory drivers Joerg Bergmeister (Germany) and Patrick Long (USA) will defend their championship drivers title with Flying Lizard Motorsports in the Porsche 911 GT3 RSR, the most successful GT vehicle worldwide in the 2009 season.

So there we have it. Of course, this is the Porsche factory view. I’m delighted to know you’ll continue your successful team with Jorg for Flying Lizard. But I also know you are involved with several other organizations, teams, cars and series. Will you drive with IMSA Matmut at the 24 Heures du Mans again this season, or with another of your teams? I wonder if you’ll continue in the NASCAR Camping World Series for 2010? I loved seeing you bang it up with the NASCAR folks, holding your own and giving ’em pure unadulterated Pat Long HELL.

Things are quiet with me and my car just now. She’s been parked since we got back from Road Atlanta, and I’ve only been out to be sure she still starts up a couple of times during our recent cold snap. I think we may take her on the short romp to a family party this weekend. Must be sure she gets out & gets her legs stretched occasionally.

I’m going to be ordering up the free Hawk brake pads I won for my front axle, and I am pretty sure I have a back-up set of OEM stock pads for the rear. Once I have that together, I’ll get with JB and we will do pads all around, and a flush and bleed of my brake system.

Of course, I need to get a good look at my tires – but God help me (literally) if I need new ones anytime soon. Let’s just say that the employment fairies are not yet smiling kindly on my husband, and it’s going to be a home-made kind of Christmas for us this year. I can’t even THINK about new tires right now, and am kind of glad that I didn’t drive hard enough this year to need to replace them to start next season, embarrassing as that kind of is. Silver lining and all.

We’re really enjoying the season with what we do have. I have Griswold-ified the front of our house with colored lights, and decked out the inside with all kinds of tchochkies. After a weekend blitz of baking, I will hope to delight family and friends with gifts of my special home-made Christmas candy which we fondly refer to as Christmas Crack. My mother refuses to utter the phrase “Christmas Crack,” but is demanding her plate ASAP, “extra large, please, I love that stuff!” she says. Crack indeed! Hee!

I love making the stuff, putting it into holiday packages, and delivering it to friends and family. I’ve got my local repair shop on the list, and if I can work out the logistics, I’ll be sure to drop some by my new friends at Franz Blam Racing. Their redesigned website looks sharp!

Work is nuts one day, less nuts the next, but overall pretty stressful just now. Boy could I use some good hard fast….driving! What did you think I was going to say?? Hee!

On that note, I’m outta here for now.

Happy warm fuzzies to you wherever you are,
VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

