This is What I Do for Fun

Hi Pat,

I’ve made it to Road Atlanta safe & sound, a couple of hours ahead of the snow. My husband sent me this photo of big fat flakes falling at our house in Birmingham just as I was crossing the Georgia state line. The weather looks potentially nasty for tomorrow morning. I have packed tons of layers, and will leave here tomorrow in long underwear, long sleeved T-shirt, sweater, hoodie, another fleece if necessary, and a hooded rain-jacket/windbreaker, over all-weather pants over tights and leggings. Two pairs of socks. Hat, two pairs of gloves (one with no fingertips). Lord help me, I’ll be out on the grid lining up cars at 9:00, and I’ll be out there all day long. We may get rain or snow between 5-9 tomorrow morning. Things could get very interesting!

The PCA party was really nice. The Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum provided a stunning backdrop. It was very well attended, and great fun to see everybody. I was introduced as the new Membership Chair. La ti da! I do look forward to playing a more active role in the club. They are a great bunch of folks.

I’d packed my car for the trip to RA and hubby and I drove separately so I could leave straight from the museum after the party. It was a very pleasant drive. I wanted to make the best possible time to beat the weather, but it was flashing blue lights everywhere I looked. So it was a speed limit ride the whole way. I’m tucked into my hotel room now and winding down.

Surfing the web, I see a little mention that you are in Stuttgart this weekend at the Porsche Museum doing an autograph session with some of the other factory drivers. You do get around, don’t you? What fun that must be. I could look back and see, but I can’t recall if you guys do your big annual fitness camp in the winter? I would think so. I can’t wait until further along when folks start to announce what they’re doing in the coming year. The GT2 competition in ALMS has gotten VERY interesting. It should be a great year.

I’ve got a couple of opportunities to drive coming up, and I may take advantage of one or both: an autocross, and another track day at Little Tally, coming up in the next couple of weeks. Must see what the work schedule and pocketbook will allow! For now it’s time to hit the hay. I have an early all-hands meeting, then a long, damned cold day out on the grid. I cannot wait to see all my friends and their cars – I’ve missed this bunch!

Ready for a weekend of Brrrrrrr!
VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

