Expectations

Hi Pat,

OK well it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. I was going to wait to write this until I could post a photo of the bill, but suffice it to say I am breathing a sigh of relief. The good news is that wow the new bushing feels great!

That sounds dirty.

But that’s the way it is. Much tighter, cleaner, and smooth, smooth, smooth. Very nice! I have a renewed respect for my car, and a renewed enthusiasm about driving it. I cannot wait to get back out on the track!

While they were in there (famous last words!), I got all the lighting issues sorted as well. Those things can be little money pits, but not so in this case. My driver’s side tail and brake lights were out, and it turns out my right turn signals were screwed up as well. All that is in good working order now. Next up, another good bath. I’m thinking about trying a nearby car wash that gets rave reviews, and there’s also a sports car showroom that does a nice job on older cars but it’s much more expensive. I’ll probably cheap out and do it myself!

I was so wound up about my friend messing up my car in my last note. My car guys said it was probably just bad luck that it went when he was driving. I still think he had to have done some crazy driving to finally shake it loose. But I feel better about the whole thing because now that I know what it should have felt like all along, I realize that it was already out of whack when I first got the car last July. Anyway, no hard feelings for my friend.

Who will never drive my car again.

Ahem.

And wow, expectations. I had not even allowed for this scenario in my head at first. I have a lot to learn. Still. Always.

Moving on…

I’m still waiting for the final word on Petit Le Mans and it may not come until fairly close to race week. But I’m really hoping to be able to go, at least for the big race day, and some of the related PorschePlatz fun. I love seeing Road Atlanta so alive when this race is there. It’s like nothing else that happens there. I was at the very first one back in 1998 (you were what, nine??) and I’ve been to several in between then and now. Each year it is grander and grander, busier and busier. I know attendance has actually waffled a bit over the years, but regardless, the energy of the whole thing has stayed on the upswing. This will sound sappy but the minute the track comes into sight on the road in, I get all misty-eyed. Sniff!

On that note, good night.

Dreaming of Road Atlanta,
VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

