Enduring

Hey Pat,

I’ve been checking your various haunts and I see your new SpeedTV blog is up, dated July 30. You seem to compartmentalize things, no mention there of the NASCAR outing. I’m sure there is a reason for that. Anyway, no surprises in your latest column. Feeling pretty well out of the competition just four hours into a 24 hour race has to be a huge mental challenge, but you guys hung in there, your spirits more resilient in the end than the car. I wondered about the weather at Spa – what little news I got made it seem like it was constantly changing. Apparently it was!

Well I’ve just signed up to work pit & grid at Road Atlanta this coming weekend, Friday through Sunday. I was hoping to get an inside job, they tried all last season to assign me to something in the tower to cross-train me in timing & scoring and race control, but I held them off – I didn’t want to leave the vroom out on the track! The heat has been so hard on me lately, tho, so I asked for an inside job.

But by the time I signed up, all the inside jobs were covered. So I may well be out on the grid Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I know how to take care of myself, and my “pit boss” is good about letting me skip out when I have to cool off, which I only do when absolutely necessary. I’ve gotten pretty good at dressing right, and bringing stuff with me to mitigate the heat. I’m already gathering my stuff, including my rain suit, for the weekend. I can’t wait to get back to Road Atlanta, my “other home track” next to Barber. I grew up in Atlanta and while it was before I did any driving, I always felt like Road Atlanta was my home track.

Tomorrow I go to traffic court to deal with the ticket I got when I totaled my husband’s car. I didn’t get a moving violation, just a citation for no proof of insurance. I actually had the card in my wallet, but was so rattled I couldn’t put my hands on it when asked. I had one in my wallet, and another in the glove box of the car. I guess a concussion will do that to you. Hopefully tomorrow when I show all my documents they will clear the ticket.

On that note, I’m outta here.

Happy driving, wherever you are!
VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

