It’s On

Hey Pat,

Well it’s been a long day. I picked up my 911 first thing this morning. It’s running like a dream and handling better than ever, but it’s filthy as hell! I was hoping to be able to take my lunch break to clean it up a little but I wasn’t able to do that. After work I made my stop at Wal-Mart to get a few essentials for the weekend that I didn’t think to keep with me during our move. Camp chair, sun screen, gatorade, etc. Then I came home and cleared out and track-prepped the 911, ran thru a few basic tech items myself (oil level, tire pressures, battery tie-down, and torqued my lug nuts now that I am reunited with my torque wrench!). Then I grabbed my tech forms and my helmet, and headed over to Barber to get registered and to get my car teched.

It’s only eight miles from our short-stay apartment, which is awesome. I drove around the paddock saying hi to some of my friends and to see who was where, then headed down to tech, also full of my NASA-SE coworker friends from the past year. It was great to see everybody. Lots of awesome hugs and a little catching up. They’re all used to seeing me there to work – this is the first time I’m driving with NASA and I got lots of great encouragement. And TONS of ribbing about “Uh oh – a worker driver! A WOMAN worker driver! Look ouuut!” Haha! I loved it.

So armbanded and windshield-stickered, I was out of there. I found my 944 racer buddy and he had saved me a parking spot. I’m traveling light this weekend, so it’ll be great to have a place to store some of my stuff while I’m out on the track. And my buddy has an awesome set-up, huge motorhome with a mini-garage in back. He’s got a huge air supply (haha that’s what SHE said…!) and…and! He’s got some awesome portable car wash stuff so I hope I’ll be able to get my car cleaned up a little before I take her out and get her all crapped up again.

Meanwhile, the deal on our new house is in a precarious spot right now. Technically the contract expires in an hour and ten minutes and the seller is making like he won’t extend it. Even though we heard back from the bank today and there are minimal hoops for me to jump through to get my loan finalized. So I’ll have to be checking in with my real estate agent and mortgage broker while I’m at the track this weekend. I was hoping to have this all taken care of by today, but I do not run the universe, so I’ll just have to deal. I was so tense about this thing falling apart, I felt like I was finally able to breathe once I got that call from the lender. At 8PM! It’s not done, but I am definitely much less anxious than I was for most of today. I could hardly swallow a bite of dinner, I was so knotted up about the whole mess. I’m at the point where I’m just having to zen out about it. If it works, great. If not, there will be another house. There’s always another house. I would hate for us to be in this limbo much longer, but we’ll do what we have to do.

Hey I did get hold of that awesome driver (Mike) who’s offering some coaching this weekend, and I’m definitely getting a couple of sessions with him. I am so excited, I can hardly stand myself! I will have an assigned instructor for the weekend thru NASA (Greg), so I will have to see how he feels about having a session off. And frankly, I’ll have to see how I feel about it. If we work well together, I may not want to give up a session. He may have a plan for how he likes to use the sessions over the course of the weekend. I’ll meet him first thing tomorrow and we’ll work it out. If it’s at all awkward, no problem. I will be more than happy to stick with my assigned instructor per the plan, and use my 2 coaching sessions to have Mike drive my car and let me ride along in the advanced sessions. Either way, SCORE!

So are you in France yet? I thought I had the complete schedule but I can’t seem to find it online now. Well, wherever you are, I bet you are keeping busy and having fun. I’ve enjoyed your online updates & will continue to look around to see what you’re up to between now and Le Mans. I’ll be going to a 24 hour geekfest where we’ll be watching the race, and running our own 24 hour race on a couple of simulators. Maybe I’ll actually get to pretend-drive this year!

Alright – must go. 5AM will be here very soon.

Be well, take care,
VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

