Drive-Anything Racer

Hi Patrick,

Well I was really taken aback at the absence of your name on the Flying Lizard team for 24 Hours of Le Mans, but I was gratified to see the update on your website that gives a little insight into what you’re doing. I’ve probably got no business yacking about any of this anyway, since I have no clue what goes on behind the scenes. For all I know, you were busy that weekend. Heh! Actually, come to find out, that’s kind of true. I have it on good information that you will be there, and I’ll leave it at that for now.

OK so looking at your update, first of all, let me say that I had to Google most of the first two sentences paragraphs. Camping World Series? ASA? Huh? As I often say, and as your post made clear, I really do not know all that much about the racing world or car culture AT ALL! So I have now had a peek at a few more things going on outside the small world I have been watching. Who knew?

You did, of course. You are all over the place, and clearly doing what you want. If the 24 Hrs of Le Mans deal was a bummer (and actually I think we’ll find out soon that it was just not what I thought) you will make the best of the situation. It’s amazing to me really, the potential ups and downs for even the most talented drivers in the world such as yourself. The good news is, if I can figure out where you are when, there could be many more opportunities to see you race than I initially thought. I don’t know how that will work for these other series, whether entrant names will be published where I can find out, whether these dates will be on your calendar. I’ll keep an eye out, and I will hope for a few more chances to see you on the track this year. I wrote a couple of notes ago about how interesting I found the whole drafting phenomenon in watching the end of last weekend’s NASCAR race at Talladega. Truth be told, I find the whole business fascinating, and have always been happy to watch any kind of racing, be it dirt track, oval, drag strip, road race, whatever.

And motorcycles! I’ve watched some video of motorcycles at Barber and Road Atlanta, and I find it absolutely fascinating how literal the driving line is as driven on a bike. The on-bike footage makes me dizzy! But there is so much I’ve learned from watching the way the weight of the bike moves through the turns on tracks I have some familiarity with. So, so, so much to learn.

Following you will provide a very well-rounded look at the world of racing. I am looking forward to seeing the project car you wrote about a couple of months ago – I believe you teased the world with the prospect of showing it off at St. Pete or Long Beach, I can’t remember which. I haven’t seen anything about it, but I’ll keep an eye out. And Patrick Long doing SuperMoto – let’s see some of that!

Things are crazy times ten million here right now. My work has gone completely insane, and now a bunch of travel is added to the already whacked-out mix on tap with work for the next few weeks. I have no clue how I’m going to make it all work. We’re still packing up here, and I just today closed on the sale of this house. We are technically homeless! Things are still up in the air on the new place, but we hope to get a final deal and closing date worked out very soon. With any luck, we’ll be in there the week of May 18. We’re so excited about the new place! And with a little additional luck, we’ll be in there in time for me to keep my date to drive NASA-SE with Barber the last weekend in May.

Back to the grind for me. Take care, be well, wherever you are!

Sincerely,
VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

