Make LeMon-ade

Hi Patrick,

I’m up way too late already, and not close to finished packing up for my trip. I’m leaving for CMP straight after work tomorrow, which means I have to be ready for my trip when I leave here at 6:30 in the morning. It’s been stormy here all afternoon and evening, but there were a few breaks which allowed me to get out and clean my husband’s stuff out of his car, and start moving mine in. We actually swapped cars about a month ago but haven’t really “moved.” Anyway, I’m just waiting on laundry to finish, then I’ll finish packing my suitcase and get it, and a few other things out to the car.

Several things I’ve had on my mind to get to here tonight – oh first, I see you’re updating your website. Yay for that! I love the new image on the splash page. I wish I could find a photo of #45 like the one of 44 that I used on this site. I do know that’s not your car – and as soon as I find one that will work here, I’ll swap it out.

Super busy day today, but while it was raining, I grabbed a few minutes to surf around the web and check in on the St. Pete buzz. OK, this is how out of the loop I remain. I didn’t know there was also a Grand Prix Indy race this weekend, all tangled up around your ALMS race. Now I know! I’m sure there will be all sorts of online fan things to do, but I don’t know what they are, and I won’t have time to check them out anyway. In fact, I can’t find any radio coverage of the race except XM, which I don’t have.

Hopefully I can get somebody to drag a TV out in the paddock at CMP so that I can keep up. The race is so short (I read it was the precise length it is – for TV!) that I could almost call it a lunch break. If they have WiFi at the track (doubtful), I’ll have my laptop tuned in to Lizard team radio. I got a kick out of listening to that during Sebring. I ran into a couple of interviews with your team, and I enjoyed reading everybody’s take on the course, which I read while looking at a track map. I don’t know St. Pete, and am looking for a course map that is overlaid on a map of the streets and features. It sounds like it would be a blast to drive. I hope you guys rock out with your…..uh OK.

Speaking of humor, you are always very professional when you are interviewed as a team member, Porsche driver, car reviewer, etc. Every now and then we get a glimpse of your lighter side, which is fun. I have discovered the biggest bunch of goofs ever in the clubs I run with, and the jokes and pranks are usually what we remember of our weekends together.  I think my favorite stuff you’ve done is the more casual stuff, where you showed a bit of your sense of humor. I hear you are wicked funny, and being half-Irish myself, that doesn’t surprise me.  I just went and watched “Everybody Loves Patrick,” the video you shot behind the scenes at Le Mans 2008.  You have a very nice accent in both French and German! Well done. “Can’t get fat lookin at the cookies!” Cute.  Kind of like our motto around here, “It doesn’t matter where you get your appetite as long as you eat at home”? And you know Olivier Panis! One of my dearest friends is a professional corner worker who was the first responder to Panis when he crashed at Montreal in 1997.  That was scary, and I’m glad to know he’s still at it.

I’ve been back and forth to this note several times. Now taking a break from running around a bit, and then it’s time to pack the car and get to bed. I’m so excited about the weekend! For you, and for me.

I’m a little anxious about the long drive, but mostly I’m looking forward to it. This bunch always has a great time, and they have become some of my best friends. They were so very patient with me when I first showed up out of the blue last June. I didn’t know what I was getting into, but they just took me into the fold, showed me what to do, and all of a sudden I’m not the noob anymore. I got to watch this year’s new gridmonkey be initiated, hell I got to help!  And I got to train him, too, which I loved doing. I’ve never crewed for anyone before, and what better way to start than a crazy-ass race like LeMons? I’ll learn a lot, and I know it’s going to be some big fun!

Tomorrow is going to be here soon. I have to be at work at 8, and at 8:05 you have practice. About the time you finish afternoon practice and qualifying, I’ll be finishing work, and heading off to South Carolina. Both the LeMons and the St. Pete race start around 1PM Saturday, so even if there is a TV in the paddock, I’m afraid I won’t be able to watch at all! First things first.  I’ll be rooting for a couple of teams, you guys, of course, and Primetime Racing’s Chris Hall in the #11 Dodge Viper. I met him at PSDS and he gave me a most memorable hot-lap ride a few months ago. I wasn’t sure what he was up to this season, and I’m tickled to see he’s got an awesome ride.  You and he are competing in GT2 – and I’m sure you’ll both be awesome! Hopefully I’ll catch a replay on TV when I’m back at the hotel for the night.

Good luck this weekend. Go 45!

Sincerely,

VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

