Foreshadowing

Dear Patrick,

I was looking at the Flying Lizard website a few days ago, and saw they had a “submit fan photos” link. I submitted a photo I took a few weeks ago at Road Atlanta. I was there for a club race weekend, and we had a Friday night baby shower for our weather forecaster/trophy girl in the basement classroom of the tower. I noticed one of the framed photos hanging on the wall, thought of you immediately, and snapped a picture of it. I got the biggest kick out of it, and I figured that you would, too:

Foreshadowing?

I have it on good authority that you did, indeed, get a kick out of it! Your old #6 Penske car and your new #45 Flying Lizard car, probably in a Petit Le Mans race.

So I’m not sure about this whole blog thing. It’s kind of weird, isn’t it? It’s not so much just the blog, as it is that over the past few months, I’ve reached out to “touch” you several times, in digital terms, and I do worry about coming across as some kind of freak. I’ve sent a couple of emails via the PCA blog site, and a couple through Sean. I sent the photo thru Jennifer. If you have thought about these contacts at all, I imagine it’s something along the lines of, “What the f*** is up with this woman?”

I’ve never been one to send “fan mail” or anything like that. On the other hand, when there is a mode of contact, especially in the digital age, I have not been shy about shooting off my thoughts to a “celebrity.” My ramblings on the “About” page explain where I’m coming from here. But I still feel kind of unsure about the whole endeavor. We’ll see what happens.

So let’s see what you’re doing this week. Hopefully taking it easy! Your schedule says your next race will be in St. Pete FL the first weekend in April – the same weekend when I hope to be crewing for my friends in the 24 Hours of LeMons at CMP. Wow. That’s coming right up, isn’t it? A week from this weekend. I better figure out which car I want to impose the 8-hrs-each-way drive on and get it all shaped up for the trip. It won’t be the 911, I can tell you that much! I have an autocross event this Sunday, though. So I do need to give the 911 a good check in the next few days.

It’s past my bedtime. Bye for now.

Sincerely,
VroomGrrl

Leave a Reply

